ARPITA CHIPKAR

10494563_690779327718175_7708759558409781233_n

Hello Arpita, welcome to Incredible Women Of India, Thank you for being a part of INCREDIBLE WOMEN WRITERS OF INDIA, Monsoon Edition, 2015 and sharing your journey as a writer with us.

Who are you? What are you like? What are your dreams, aspirations? What defines you?

Hello, I am Arpita Chipkar. I hail from Karwar. It is a beautiful coastal city which is situated on the border of Karnataka and Goa.  I am a hopeful day dreamer. I was in class 4th and my class teacher was angry at me as I talked too much. “What do you talk so much Arpita? Yes you in the last bench!”  She had barked at me. She called me near her and gave me the last warning. Since then I preferred writing chits and passed it to my friends. They would reply and send it across in writing to me.

I read a poem on “Friendship” and wrote one. It was my perception of friendship.

Me and my best friend then, had something called, “Letter books” The books were similar to look at. We wrote the letter based on the day and exchanged the next day. The writing started only because my teachers dint let me talk too much in the class.

I feel grateful to them. I guess I always had a lot to express and often relied on writings in order to convey.

Even today, I prefer the mail or messages over speaking on the phone.

Tell us something about your childhood and growing up years.

In class 12th i started posting short stories as my Facebook updates. A friend suggested to me that I must post them in the “Facebook Notes” instead. I did that. I got good response from my friends.

Then crush/friend of mine, Thought of submitting one of my articles to Daijiworld weekly’s (Mangalorean Publication) Sub editor. I was lucky enough to get published at the age of 17.

Since then, there was no turning back. I stepped in to professional writing.

When I glance back at my childhood and my favorite pass time, I remember narrating stories to my friends like the horror stories, the miraculous ones etc. I was a convincing narrator I believed. ·About your college days. I often had a story to tell. I like dancing, I like singing. I guess I love expressing myself in every possible way.

As I started professionally writing for the news publications like Daijiworld, CoastalDigest.com, Mangalorean.com etc. The College did keep me very busy. I had joined the B.A Psychology, the other subjects being, Literature, and Journalism. I liked all the three subjects very much. Psychology had immensely influenced my writing. I like to present as to why a character thinks like this. What are the conflicts the character is facing and what has constituted to it.

Any special achievements? Any memorable moments or incidents?

Getting my book published is one of my most beautiful achievements and a proud moment of my life! It is like my baby. “Are you magic or am I a trick?” is a mystical Romance fiction. It is a story of a young author, whose fictional character, her Mr. Perfect comes alive. The novel revolves around solving the mystery behind her Mr. Perfect’s existence. I am working on the second book which will also be the second part of “Are you magic or am I a trick?”

Every time I see my article/story getting published, it gives me immense pleasure.

Any painful happening s which made you stronger as a person?

As I got my novel published, My College, Nitte University, Mangalore seemed very unhappy with it as they believed that “To be successful in life, one has to have 80% above attendance.”  I was short of 5 or 6% in each subject. Attendance was never considered a big issue before I faced it. I was humiliated by the college authorities and the Librarian refused to give me my hall ticket. I was looked down upon and discriminated while the other students with lesser attendance were allowed to write the exams without facing difficulties. I somehow wrote the exam.

I believed that being a 8 point grader and performing well in the activities at college was more important than the exact 80% above attendance. I feel our Indian Education system is at fault as it is creating Robots out of students. We need citizens who are talented and hard workers who can contribute well to the Country. No job recruiter will ever ask you what your attendance in your college was.

The Colleges should support and encourage the students and I wish no other writer faces such humiliation.

What are you doing now?

Currently, I have completed the first year of Masters in Mass Communication · I am writing my second novel, I am an active blogger at arpitachipkar.blogspot.in. I wish to prosper in the field of Literature. The journey has just begun.

What is the hardest thing about writing? What is the easiest thing about writing? Any writing rituals?

The easiest thing about writing is that it gives a great pleasure to pour the heart out and that is therapeutic. I feel light after writing. I don’t write anything worrying about the readers I go with the flow. I have got lovely readers and have always accepted my articles and stories and now the novel. The best part of being a writer is that we live various lives. We step ourselves in the shoes of others. The hardest thing being the same. While writing few dialogues, it gets a little difficult to think like a man. In my debut novel, the hero of the novel, (Mihir) had to tell about his feelings towards the protagonist. That was one chapter I preferred to narrate in the words of Mihir. I was stuck there for a day trying to think like a man and his feelings for a woman.

I don’t follow any such writing rituals but I make sure I feel happy about even the bad events of life as I feel I am gifted with yet another interesting story.

Do you ever get writer’s Block? And how do you get over it?

Yes I do get the writer’s block. I think that is a sign of a healthy mind. When the thought flow is not very smooth, I am usually stuck with too many things in mind. I try to talk about it with my mother who is also a writer and while I am narrating, I always get answers to my confused mind. I restart writing then on.

Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors and poets / what are your favourite books?

I read a lot of articles. I read less of books. I am 22 year old and I guess when I choose to become a full time writer some day in future, and as I already have a book of my own, I better start reading more books now on. It reminds me that I have many books piled up opposite to me and I have to review them soon.

I try to read every article possible which is related to psychology and mythology.

What do you think is the future of reading/writing in India?

I think the Indian Literature is flourishing at a racing rate. There is a lot of competition too. I so love it! It is flourishing and getting glamourized likes the film industry. People who do not read text books too have started talking about authors like Chethan Bhagat , Durjoy Dutta etc. I think it is amazing. India is reading like never before! The advent of internet has paved many ways for the young readers to start up with their own blogs, websites etc and reach out to the readers.

What are your other passions apart from writing?

I like singing. I can write a story and sing a song simultaneously and that is what I am doing right now. I Love music as well as dance.

How do you see yourself in the future?

I wish to have a library of my authored books. I wish to set an example that writing could be taken as a full time profession. I wish to motivate many people who are just a step away from picking the pen and started the beautiful journey towards expressions and inspiring others!

Any message for the readers of our blogazine.

My only message to the readers is that “You are beautiful and you all are talented and gifted in some or the other way. Try to know what you are good at and work harder to polish your skills. Do not stick to becoming only Engineers or Doctors. The country also needs Painters, singers, Dancers, Writers!”

11088347_1426753870961311_6350326777288260698_n

To know more about Arpita Chipkar click on the link below to her Blog page on facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/arpitarticles?fref=ts

Please note that this interview was conducted online, via emails.

Interview conducted by Rhiti Bose.

Share your thoughts

