PREETHI VENUGOPALA

PIC

Hello Preethi, welcome to Incredible Women Of India, Thank you for being a part of Incredible Women Writers of India, Monsoon Edition, 2015 and sharing your journey as a writer with us.

First of all tell us something about your growing up years, your school and college days, and your family.

Thank you for honouring me with the title of an incredible woman.

I was more active in sports and reading than academics during school days. The playground and the library were my two favourite places in school. I hated going to school regularly and was happiest during summer vacations. During college days, the case was not very different. I had a nick name ‘guest lecturer’ as I skipped college whenever I got a chance. But both in school and college, I was an above average student. I even topped my school in English and Biology in the twelfth class board examinations. I was also active in co-curricular activities like arts, dance and music.

I belong to a family of doctors and engineers and hence went with the flow and became an engineer too. But lately I have realised that writing is my passion.

What makes you, You?

I am a seeker. Whatever thing I embark on, I feel most comfortable when I do research on it myself, read about it and learn it my way. I am always in search of new things to learn, new skills to develop. I think that this curiosity to learn makes me what I am.

How did your journey as a writer/poet begin?

I used to scribble poems in my diary while in school, I confess, I am not a good poet. I have no idea about the basic rules that govern poetry. For me, it was just rhyme, rhythm and passion.

While in college, I participated in story writing competitions and won twice in a row. After marriage, job and family made me forget all about writing. In 2013, while I was on a sabbatical from work, I started my blog ‘Tulips and Me’ and that was when my writing career truly began. Flash fictions written on prompts, short stories written for competitions conducted by publishers, online web magazines etc cultivated the writer in me.

What are your inspirations? Who is your muse, if any at all?

I get inspired by love, love stories and positivity. Love is my muse because I think it is the most powerful emotion in the world.

Why do you write?

Writing is therapeutic to me. Words open up a portal for me, a magical world, which has now become my safe haven, my sunshine and my solace.

What made you decide to sit down and actually start something?

I am a person who hates sitting idle. I have to keep on doing things. I am always eager to learn new things. I was in search of my passion and I found it in stories, those that I can tell and write. The satisfaction of penning down a story is always amazing.

Do you write full-time or part-time? Do you have a special time to write or how is your day structured? Do you write every day, 5 days a week or as and when?

I am a full time writer now. I try to write every day. Once the house calms down after my husband leaves for office and son for school, I sit down in front of my laptop to write. Sometimes I manage to write more and sometimes I don’t write anything at all. Some days, internet and Facebook takes away all my free time. But social media and internet are also very essential to keep me sane. Many of my writing ideas emerge through my online reading.

What is the hardest thing about writing? What is the easiest thing about writing? Any writing rituals?

The hardest thing about writing is that words are very sensitive and telepathic. When I am writing a story I am pulled into it. I become emotionally involved and kind of live the life of my characters. Sometimes I write about something that has happened/ is happening somewhere, as though those words are not mine entirely and that someone else is writing it down for me. And that is scary.

The easiest thing is that I can build my story one word at a time.

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer to just see where an idea takes you? Have you ever hated something you wrote? 

I usually have the basic plot developed in my mind before I put down the first word. But, the story takes its own course once I start. New ideas emerge, I adopt them and weave them into the story as and when they strike me.

No, I love whatever I have written till now. Every piece of writing is part of my evolution as a writer. So I value and love each one of them.

Do you ever get writer’s Block? And how do you get over it?

Luckily, I haven’t faced writers block till now. Words have been kind to me. May be it is because I don’t limit myself to just writing novels or short stories. I write random posts on my blog and I write flash fictions following various prompts. Once words start to flow, they keep on coming. If I stop writing for a while, I might encounter this monster called ‘Writers’ block.’

How do you think you’ve evolved creatively?

My creativity has carved its own niche in my world. It has become a part of my identity rather than being a diversion.

What are you working on at the minute?

I am working on two novels at the moment. Both are romances but based in different time periods in history.

Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors and poets / what are your favourite books?

I am a bibliophile from childhood. I like Pablo Neruda, Khahlil Gibran, Rumi, Emily Dickinson, William Wordsworth, Rabindranath Tagore, ONV Kurup and Lang Leav among poets.

Dan brown, Nicholas Sparks, Julia Quinn, Judith Mc Naught, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Elizabeth Gilbert, Maeve Binchy are my all-time favourite authors.

What do you think is the future of reading/writing in India?

I think as long as man exists, stories will exist. And as long as stories exist reading/writing will continue to charm people. Nowadays, more and more people are becoming writers and I think that is a very good sign. Hence I think the future is bright for writing/reading in India.

What are your other passions apart from writing?

I am an artist. I do landscapes, portraits and mixed media art. I am also an avid reader and blogger. I love crocheting, beading, quilling and crafts.

What is your message for the readers of our blogazine?

I am a newbie in the writing field and would appreciate all encouragement from the readers of this amazing blogazine. Do check out my book ‘Without You’ and tell me how you like it.


Quotes from my book ‘Without You’

Quote Without You copy

Annu copy

11145227_1620106151534808_2324088417838855568_n (1)


To know more about this INCREDIBLE WOMAN please follow the links below:

Email: authorpreethi@gmail.com

Blog: http://tulipsandme.blogspot.in/

FB author page: https://www.facebook.com/authorpreethi

FB Arts page: https://www.facebook.com/preethisart

Twitter: @preethivenu


Please note that this interview was conducted online, via emails.

Interview conducted for Incredible Women of India : Rhiti Bose

5 thoughts on “PREETHI VENUGOPALA

  1. Preethi, this interview has revealed so many interesting facets about you as a person and as a writer! May you continue to write and inspire, and may the incredible woman in you continue to receive accolades and bouquets! Here’s to more writing and excitement! Kudos!

Share your thoughts

