Kiran Manral

fashion101 (1)
Hello Kiran, thank you for being a part of IWI’s Incredible Women Writers of India 2016, and sharing your journey as a writer. 
How would you define yourself?
I am a Type A person hidden within a Type B Person.

 

What was your childhood like? Any incidents form your growing up years that shaped you as a person?

My childhood was quite interesting, we moved homes a lot so I guess that set the stage for me turning to books and becoming an introvert because it was increasingly difficult for me to keep making new friends. And all that reading has now stood me in good stead.

reading

 

When did your journey as a writer/poet begin?

I think I’ve always been writing, ever since I was a child.

Do you have a muse? If yes, who or what acts as a catalyst to your writing?

I don’t have a muse per se, but I think it is the protagonist of each story who pops up in mind is what spurs my writing.

Do you plan out your work or just go with the flow?

I’ve worked both ways, I’ve plotted out a story chapter by chapter, and I’ve let stories develop organically. Both have their own challenges but the ones you plot have no surprises. The ones that grow organically are the ones that will tear your heart apart in the writing of.

For you, what’s the easiest thing about writing and the hardest thing? Do you have any weird/funny writing rituals?

The easiest thing about writing is the typing. The hardest thing is to believe in what one has written and to let it go, and not be tempted to revise it for one last time. I must remove every single thing on my fingers and hands when I sit down to write. The fitness band, the rings on the fingers, the bracelets, every single thing.

APB18

Do you get writer’s block? How do you battle it?

I don’t believe in writer’s block. I think there are good writing days and not so good writing days and there are bad writing days. If one calls oneself a professional writer one can’t slack off thanks to a writer’s block. Does a doctor say he or she is having a doctor’s block? You just keep writing and slowly the words will come back. Whenever I’m having a bad writing day, I do something else, research, read up something different, work a bit on what I’ve written before. But I stay in the zone, I don’t completely disconnect from the work.

AllAboardFullCircleHow have you evolved as a writer since you have started? If you could give one advice to yourself, what would it be? What are you working on now?

I would definitely like to think I have evolved, that would be natural.

Advice to myself? To have the courage to keep writing what I want to write and not get blockaded into genres or styles. I’m working on multiple things right now, fiction and non fiction. Let’s see what gets done first and comes out.

What’s your opinion about the future of writing/reading/the publishing industry in India?

There are a lot more people writing. I hope there will be a lot more people reading and buying books.

One liners:

Favorite food…Butter chicken with naan
Favorite Book…Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K Jerome
Favorite author… P G Wodehouse
What are you afraid of… Reptiles
What makes you angry… Incompetence
Childhood crush… was George Michael and then he broke my heart when he came out.
Things that you can’t live without… Nutella

Any message or advice you want to share with our readers?

A message perhaps, not advice. Just be kind.

Fivecovers

__________________________________________________________

To know more about her work follow her blog at www.kiranmanral.wordpress.com 

__________________________________________________________

Please Note: This interview has been conducted online via emails by Rhiti Bose for IWI. 

 

3 thoughts on “Kiran Manral

  1. Pingback: Kiran Manral | Kiran Manral

Share your thoughts

