The Essence of a Woman

I have always believed that there is nothing more beautiful than a woman who takes pride and dignity in who she is. As I think of the most special species on earth – women, many thoughts rush my head. There’s a sense of love and pride that I feel because I am a woman. I thank God for he chose to send me into this world as a woman. It’s seldom that I think about who I am, the worth of my existence. But when I do, I ask myself, “Don’t we need to celebrate ourselves and our existence every moment?” 

What is really the essence of being a woman? I believe it’s not only the capacity of a woman to bear a child, nor only beauty, nor only grace and poise that defines her. Not all women are gifted with the ability to have a child and not all women have chosen to have a child even if they can have one. Yet, that doesn’t make them less of a woman. Each woman is unique. Each has different beauty, a different sense of style and a different way of carrying herself. But regardless of the differences each one is special.

Every single day, every single moment is mine. I celebrate myself in every role, every phase. I am that woman who is responsible for the birth of this universe. I am every woman that speaks for herself. I am the reason for happiness around. I spread love, joy and warmth. My eyes being the reflection of my love and innocence. I’m strong yet have a tender heart.

I also think of those who associate woman with only pain and suffering. Is this the only definition of womanhood or are we born only to bear and overcome all these? Well, a woman is a living legend for holding all the lives and binding all the love together. I take this opportunity to tell every woman to make the best of every moment that she has for she is the proud owner of herself. Do not forget to pamper yourself, don’t forget you are special and don’t give yourself just one day to celebrate. We add meaning to everything possible, we have taught this world to love, to care and to celebrate the joy of living. There is no existence without us. So feel proud of yourself.

Today I salute every woman, right from the one who’s milking the cow, the one who’s selling fruits/vegetables, who’s a labourer, who’s a proud homemaker, a maid, a sweeper, a wife, a mother, a teacher, a sister, a friend, an entrepreneur, a corporate professional, a fashionista and many more who play different roles; They are all phenomenal women. This is the beauty of womanhood. We accept everything with perfect grace. Being a woman does not lie in only one particular characteristic, but rather in everything that a woman has which separates her from men and all other beings; those truly distinct qualities which you can only find in a woman.

So, all my women friends out there, do not forget to pamper yourselves, love yourselves and celebrate yourselves every moment… Cheers to Womanhood!

– By Vedica Saxena, for IWI*


About IWIite Vedica Saxena 

Vedica is a technocrat and soft skills trainer. She has also dabbled in modeling and is currently a freelance writer. Now a doting mother, she is enjoying motherhood thoroughly. Writing is her passion and she wishes to reach out to every one through her writings.


*If you wish to write for IWI, head to our submissions page.

Share your thoughts

